12
May
09

A Life Well Lived

photoYesterday, I received a phone call I knew would one day come.  The call told me to hurry to my grandmother’s bedside.  The doctor said the body was a lot like a computer, and grandma’s was in the process of slowly shutting down.

I jumped in the car and met the rest of my family there.  We sang songs, read Scripture, told stories, laughed, and cried.  The whole time she sat there with her eyes barely open, unable to speak, but you knew she was listening and enjoying the attention.

She gave her life to God’s service.  She married a preacher and followed him faithfully in support, love, and prayer.  She was a worshipper, a prayer warrior, a friend, a listener, and a pillar of faith.

As I sat by her bed to say goodbye for what I think will be the last time, I looked in her eyes and said, “Grandma, I love you.  Thank you for staying faithful to grandpa, and playing the organ for him all those years, for listening and supporting him while he preached the gospel in good times and bad.  Thank you for the love you showed, for all the fried chicken you cooked for so many, and for the grits and bacon.  Thank you for your example and constant prayer.  I’ve been so fortunate to have you in my life.”

Here was a life well lived and now she’s going on to her greater reward.  May we remember that our lives are so short, and may we live our lives in light of our eternal home!

2 Timothy 4:6-8 – 6 For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure has come. 7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8 Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing.

0 Responses to “A Life Well Lived”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

